Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

John Adams High School Library Media Center: History, Politics & Religion

CUNY Databases for NYC Schools

undefined

 

A collection of scholarly documents devoted to the study of slavery from a multinational perspective.

Contains the entire collection from its beginning in 1843.  It has multiple search indexes, color images, surveys, and supplements.

 

Provides primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth from the period 1450-1850 and 1851-1914 in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.

https://gdc.gale.com/gdc/ncco?p=NCCO&u=cuny_k12

 

Electronic Resources

Find Articles   

 

An independent, scholarly publication featuring controversies before Congress. Congressional Digest is not an official organ, nor is it controlled by any party, interest, class or sect.

Primary source documents for the study of American History.

Images

Find Images

Magazines

Magazines relevant to social studies in the Library:

Come in and browse the collection today!

   Alternative Press

Library of Congress

Featured Reference Books

Reference Books

Selected Websites

Suggested Websites

From the National Archives.

For researchers: search for or browse over 3,000 U.S. history primary-source documents and activities.  For teachers: customize pre-made history activities, create brand-new activities from scratch, and save and organize activities in an account to share with students.

 

The primary source material in this collection covers the modern and ancient history of countries around the world. Includes legal and political documents, contemporary narrative accounts, personal memoirs, songs, and newspaper reports, as well as cultural, philosophical, religious, and scientific documents.

 This video archive covers every C-SPAN program aired since 1987.

 

This site includes information on: bills & resolutions, activity in Congress, Congressional Record, schedules & calendars, committee information, presidential nominations, treaties, government resources, and more.

 

An interactive free online database that lets users track a wide range of national political issues with detailed data on congressional hearings and voting records, press coverage, and public opinion data.

 

Launched in 2006, FedSpending is a project of OMB Watch, a non-governmental agency that works to increase government transparency and accountability. Information is available by state, congressional district, contracting agency, product/service, etc.

 Allows you to search different versions of the Bible by keyword and topics.

 

Middle East Studies covers all disciplines in the study of human societies, past and present, in the following countries: Morocco, Tunisia, Algeria, Libya, and Egypt, the occupied territories of the West Bank and the Gaza Strip, Lebanon, Syria, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Turkey, Azerbayjan, Armenia, Iran, Afghanistan, Bahrain, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

 

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Its reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

 Daily updates on domestic and international politics.

Interactive website for Global Studies

News

In The News

The postings below contain news stories related to the history and politics around the world from the New York Times.

Loading ...