You need to adhere to ethical standards in your research. Providing your reader with the references in which you found your information is required, so they can distinguish it from your thinking.
Creating an alphabetical list of sources for your reader to consult is a basic form of referencing. Such a list is called a bibliography or works cited page. In the body of your writing, you may be required to use citations, which indicates which source in your bibliography you are referencing in your sentence or paragraph.
Two common forms of citations are:
MLA (
Name Class
Bibliography Worksheet
To generate a bibliography, capture the following information for different types of sources. Then you may use a free online citation generator to format the bibliographic entry (for example, www.easybib.com; www.bibme.org; or www.workscited4u.com).
|
Book (one author) |
|
|
Author’s Last Name, First Name |
|
|
Title of Book |
|
|
City of Publication |
|
|
Publisher |
|
|
Copyright Year |
|
|
|
|
|
Magazine Article |
|
|
Author’s Last Name, First Name |
|
|
Title of Article |
|
|
Name of Magazine |
|
|
Volume and Issue of Magazine |
|
|
Date of Magazine |
|
|
Page Numbers |
|
|
URL (if online) |
|
|
Retrieval Date (if online) |
|
|
|
|
|
Encyclopedia Article |
|
|
Author’s Last Name, First Name |
|
|
Title of Article |
|
|
Name of Encyclopedia |
|
|
Editor of Encyclopedia (if available) |
|
|
Volume, Pages |
|
|
City of Publication |
|
|
Publisher |
|
|
Copyright Year |
|
|
|
|
|
Website |
|
|
Author’s Last Name, First Name |
|
|
Title of Web page |
|
|
Title of Website (if different) |
|
|
Publisher of Website |
|
|
URL |
|
|
Last Updated Date |
|
|
Retrieval Date |
|
