Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

John Adams High School Library Media Center: Library Home

WELCOME!

WELCOME TO THE

JOHN ADAMS HIGH SCHOOL LIBRARY!

We are glad you have chosen to visit the library's homepage. The library houses over 16,000 volumes, which includes nonfiction and fiction, reference titles, and an audiovisual collection.  The library also subscribes to databases and a substantial e-book collection.  The librarians are prepared to teach information literacy classes and provide reference services to students and staff.  The facility includes 76 computers to accommodate our diverse learning community.    

We're here to help you!

                 

  Jwaters2@johnadamsnyc.org                              Ejud@johnadamsnyc.org

Follow us on 

 

Queens Library Invites You to Read Because....

 

Or Read an Ebook from the John Adams Library with the Follett Link Below (Type 'ebook' in search box)

 

Library Hours

The library is open 5 days a week.  It is staffed with a librarian on 'B' days.

  Teachers' E-mail

 

Students!  Access your JAHS G-mail account here!

Pupil Path

MyLibraryNYC

MyLibraryNYC offers teacher sets of books, workshops, author visits, and much more.

TeachingBooks

TeachingBooks.net is a wonderful free service for both teachers and students.  Free resources for the books you're reading!  Take advantage! 

EVENTS IN THE LIBRARY

Poetry Out Loud! Contest - December 15, 2017

Thanks to Ms. Jarrett for arranging this wonderful event.

Congratulations!

Mr. Singh's Global class displayed their amazing Medieval villages in the library in November. Good work everyone!

Author and musician James McBride gave an inspiring talk

Thanks to AP Dr. Silverman for arranging Mr. McBride's visit!

Ms. Vatsal spoke on November 20, 2018.  The students were given her books a month prior to her appearance.

Ms. Vatsal led a discussion on her writing processes and her interest in early 20th Century history.

Ms. Vatsal was kind to sign copies of her books for the students who attended.

SEARCH THE LIBRARY'S CATALOG

Search the John Adams Library Catalog with the 'Follett Destiny' Box Below

Students!  Teachers!

Borrowing an ebook is easy.  Click on the Sora icon and find thousands of books in the Queens Library.  All you need is your DOE email address (follow this link if you don't know it).  You can also take out a physical book at a library near you now.  Arrange for a pickup at a library near you.  Simply go on the Queens Library website.  Happy reading!

 

View the slides below to start reading!

The Bluford Series for Free!!  Just click on the image below!

undefined

 from 2pm to 11pm!

 

undefined

 

MackinVIA contains many free ebooks. Click on the banner above. Email Ms. Jud or Mr. Waters for the username and password.

Click on the above link for lots of free comics!

 

USE THESE GREAT DATABASES TO CONDUCT RESEARCH - THEY ARE YOUR 'GO TO' SOURCES. SEE TAB ABOVE FOR PRIMARY SOURCES. SEE LIBRARIANS FOR PASSWORDS

With the exception of "JSTOR", the databases below do NOT need a password.  Please send an email for the usernames/passwords for "JSTOR"

   

NEW!!

EBSCO'S PrepSTEP  can help you prepare for SAT/ACT/ASVAB exams. This database will help you with all your classes! Email us for log in information.

 

Mr. Waters is currently reading

Ms. Jud is currently reading

New Books! Click on the arrow to see the latest arrivals! There are many more than pictured!

Crossover by Kwame Alexander

Seen the movie? Now read the book! WE HAVE THEM FOR YOU!

Quote of the Day

Loading ...