Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

John Adams High School Library Media Center: Find Statistics

Why Use Statistics?

Why Use Statistics?

  1. Strengthen your position and argument.
  2. Provide objectivity to your argument, allowing it to be debated on the facts.
  3. Provide context for the topic in discussion.

Evaluating Statistics

Evaluating Statistics:

All statistical data should be evaluated for the following criteria prior to use:




Authority

  • Who are the authors?
  • What are the authors' qualifications?
  • What authority do the authors have to present these statistics?

 

Date Coverage

  • What is the date range of the data?
  •  Are the statistics intended to be current or historical?




Purpose

  • Who is the intended audience of these statistics?
  • What type of publication is the data published in?
  • Is the data clearly represented?



Content

  • Are the statistics accurate?
  • Can they be verified?
  • Is there bias in the statistics or their presentation?

 

Writing with Statistics

Writing a paper that includes statistics?

Visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab to learn how to use statistics more effectively in your writing.

Basic concepts in statistics that everyone should know.

State & Local Statistics

Offers a vast array of national, state, county and local labor statistics on topics such as unemployment, wages, and workplace injuries.

U.S. Census 2000 and 2010 and American Community Survey yearly data. Includes information broken down by state.

Is a unique statistical database which allows you to research and compare a multitude of different data on US states. 

Crime Statistics

Crime statistics from the FBI.

Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. 

Immigration Statistics

U.S. Department of Homeland Security; includes the annual Yearbook of Immigration Statistics

Education Statistics

The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. 

Food/Agriculture Statistics

The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations offers data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries through this website.

Conducts surveys and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Topics include the production and supply of food and fiber, prices page and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in U.S. producers demographics.

Food AtlasGreat maps to assist in research

The U.S. Department of Agriculture's Foreign Agricultural Service compiles a variety of statistics on the supply, demand, and price of world commodities. They offer databases for obtaining data on U.S. export sales; production, supply and distribution; market access and tariffs; and other trade data.

Health Statistics

The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play. They provide a starting point for change in communities. 

The CDC creates data and statistics sections for each of the diseases listed on their website.

U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)

  Part of the National Institutes of Health

 

  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

This product from the World Health Organization provides access to health statistics on disease, life expectancy, health systems, risk factors, health equity, road safety, and other topics.

Population Demographics

This tool from USAID "allows users to make custom tables based on hundreds of demographic and health indicators across more than 70 countries"

The Population Reference Bureau is a private foundation that compiles U.S. and international population data including demographic, housing, poverty, family structure, and commuting data.

Access current and historical demographic data, create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily.

 

POPIN is a guide to population information available through various U.N. websites. It provides links to global and regional population statistics including population projections, demographic yearbooks, vital statistics, social indicators, urbanization, literacy, health and more.

The United Nations Demographic Yearbook disseminates statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce, and special topics on an annual basis.

National Statistics

 An independent, non-partisan resource on trends in American public opinion.

International Statistics

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Its reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

  The official statistical office of the European Union, offers statistical data on a wide variety of topics.

Provides comparative national statistics on a variety of topics. In many cases, statistics can also be displayed as bar graphs, charts or maps.​

This private foundation's international programs compile statistics on population, health, and the environment worldwide.

 

This tool from USAID "allows users to make custom tables based on hundreds of demographic and health indicators across more than 70 countries"

 Social and economic statistics from the United Nations

You can make your own tables, charts, maps and easily embed or share them.

Science Statistics

"CIESIN has four divisions that reflect the organization's focus in the areas of Internet-based data and information management. ......Geospatial Applications, Information Services, Information Technology, and Science Applications."

"Use the DOE Data Explorer (DDE) to find scientific research data - such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images..."

Provides scientific stewardship, products, and services for geophysical data from the Sun to the Earth and Earth's sea floor and solid earth environment, including Earth observations from space."

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics​

The Energy Information Agency's mission "is to provide policy-independent data, forecasts, and analyses to promote sound policy making, efficient markets, and public understanding regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.”